How to Support Your Kids Creativity

Making comics

Puga is making comics

I like reading

I like reading at the library

Having kids is a precious gift from God. The gift that we should be gratefull. In order to fulfil our responsibility, as parents, we should support whatever our kids need. Start from their meal at the breakfast time, their clothes, their hobbies, and their entertain needs.

I am a mom and adore my single daughter so much. My daughter likes drawing so much. I see this talent when she was 3 years old. When I gave her a coloring marker, she suddenly made some lines and some ‘abstract’ thing on the paper. I wasn’t realized at that time, but during her growth and her interest to drawing, I amazed by her unique picture. Because I know that kids have their own imagination which adult didn’t has.

Year by year, I see my daughter has a great talent on drawing. She is more creative when I bought her some coloring pencil, crayons, marker, and a thick sketchbook. I always capture her drawing when she finished it. She also likes reading comics and watching a lot of animation movies. She often gives some critical statement about the movie story.

Sometime, I feel like my passion is revealed by my daughter interest. Mostly, when she told me, she wants to be an architect. I hope she will be graduated from the best university in Bandung someday, on graphic design major or architecture faculty. I believed she will get on her passion. I just can see it now on her.

My big mission, as parents, is encourage my daughter’s dreams. I have to push myself to be a ‘good dream manager’ for my daughter without pushing herself to do it. An intensive communication will be the main key to know what our kid likes and dislikes. We should be prepared for any condition that would be happen to our kid on chasing their dreams. Remember, to discuss all those planning with your partner (husband).

Education savings is one of the important thing to be prepared but the most one is our mental supports. So your kid would be more confidence in their achievement and could learning their failure in the right way.

Give your kids some complement on their learning progress in order to make them feel exist. Don’t waste your time to blame on your children’s hobby but concern on what their positive side of it.

A short story comic by Puga Rarasantang

A short story comic by Puga Rarasantang

14 thoughts on “How to Support Your Kids Creativity

Leave a Reply

